

BRIEFING PAPER: DIRECTORSHIPS AGM DECEMBER 2023

At the first Members Meeting of 2023 (December 2022), we outlined some of the governance requirements we have to meet. This paper is a brief reminder of some of those requirements and supports the AGM Agenda items regarding Director Retirement and Re-election and Director Elections.

Relevant extracts from Articles:

29. At each subsequent annual general meeting one-third of the directors or, if their number is not three or a multiple of three, the number nearest to one third must retire from office. If there is only one director he or she must retire.

30. (1) The directors to retire by rotation shall be those who have been longest in office since their last appointment. If any directors became or were appointed directors on the same day those to retire shall (unless they otherwise agree among themselves) be determined by lot.(2) If a director is required to retire at an annual general meeting by a provision of these articles the retirement shall take effect upon the conclusion of the meeting.

Relevant extracts from A Code for Sports Governance Tier 3 issued by Sport England

Term Limits

1.6 Subject to the Requirements set out in 1.7, a Director may serve on the Board for a number of consecutive terms, each term being no more than four years in length, up to a maximum of nine years continuous service.

1.7 The exceptions referred to in 1.6 are as follows:

A) In the event a director is:

i) subsequently appointed as the Chair following a period of service as a director on the Board....may continue to serve on the Board for the period of such appointment, subject to a maximum term of twelve years on the Board inclusive of their term prior to such appointment....

C) In exceptional circumstances (for example to assist succession planning), a Chair or Director may hold office for a further year. Diversity

2.1 Each organisation shall publish clear ambitions to ensure its leadership represents and reflects the diversity of the local community.

Oxfordshire Cricket

Relevant extracts from the Governance framework of the County Partnership Agreement between OCB and ECB

10.1 Each organisation shall adopt a target of, and take all appropriate actions to encourage, a minimum of 30% of each gender on the Board. [Note: ECB have indicated this target is likely to increase to 40% when the CPA is next updated]

10.2 Each organisation shall adopt, and take all appropriate actions to encourage, a target for BAME diversity on its Board that reflects its local communities and population.

Oxfordshire Cricket

c/o The Tudor Jones Building, Akeman Street, Chesterton, Bicester, Oxfordshire. OX26 1TH Oxfordshire Cricket Board Ltd. is a company limited by guarantee in England & Wales. Registration No. 7376156

OCB Directors pre AGM

	Appointment	Term (years)	Notes
Pete Tervet	2023	1	
John Patey	2012	11	1
Margaret Stevens	2012	11	2
Fiona Currie	2019	4	
David Hanson	2021	2	3
Chris Parkinson	2021	2	3
Chris Mitty	2021	2	3
Munaza Dogar	2021	2	
Siri Siriwardene	2021	2	
Paul Taylor	2021	2	

Notes

 John Patey offered himself for re-election at the 2022 AGM indicating that he was prepared to serve up to one year on the basis that a suitable replacement would be found during this year. Unfortunately a suitable volunteer has yet to be found and he has continued throughout the complete year. He has offered himself for re-election for one further year. This appointment is not in compliance with the Sport England Code although the ECB accepts that we have used our 'best endeavours' to find a replacement to date.

The Directors support the election of John, Proposer Peter Tervet, Seconded Chris Parkinson.

2. Margaret Stevens has not offered herself for re-election. Margaret has been the Director with prime responsibility for safeguarding, during this past year we have found her replacement, Meenal Galal, who has been working with the Board and Margaret over the last few months. Meenal is offering herself for election and her details are included in the AGM pack.

The Directors support the election of Meenal, Proposer Peter Tervet, Seconded Chris Parkinson.

3. David Hanson, Chris Parkinson and Chris Mitty all retire by rotation and have all offered themselves for re-election.

The Directors support the re-election of David, Chris and Chris, Proposer Peter Tervet, Seconded John Patey.

Oxfordshire Cricket